ACL Live & C3 Presents bring you

The Lonely Island

with Vanessa Gonzalez

Thu, June 13, 2019
8:00 pm

Friends since childhood from Berkeley, California, The Lonely Island coined their name from the cramped West Coast apartment they shared as comic start-ups. They became a mainstay of the L.A. short-comedy film culture launched by Channel 101, a constantly evolving webisode/film contest where attendees could vote for their favorite five-minute comedy video, and whose alumnus includes Jack Black, Drew Carey, Sarah Silverman and even Flavor Flav. Their willingness to embrace the digital possibilities of comedy was christened by the launch of their own website in 2001,, which was very much in sync with a growing internet fan base that eagerly followed their online antics. The triumvirate’s breakout skits and experimental embeds would eventually snag them pilot deals with more established comedy holding companies like Comedy Central and Fox, as well as a plumb writing gig for the MTV Movie Awards that would lead to a successful audition with Saturday Night Live creator Lorne Michaels.

Their 2009 debut album, “Incredibad,” included Emmy® winning sensation “D*** In A Box,” featuring superstar Justin Timberlake. The album also featured the follow-up gold records “J**z In My Pants” and “Like a Boss” which have over 230 million views combined on YouTube. The Grammy® nominated third single “I’m On A Boat” (feat. T-Pain) went platinum and catapulted the album into over 457,000 copies sold making it the #1 selling comedy album in 2009 and 2010. The trio established themselves with the enormously popular series of corresponding Digital Shorts for their singles, which were frequently featured on Saturday Night Live beginning with the debut of the pop culture sensation “Lazy Sunday” in 2005.

Their 2011 album “Turtleneck & Chain,” which debuted at #3 on Billboard, was nominated for a Grammy® in the category of “Best Comedy Album” and featured such talents as Justin Timberlake, Rihanna, Snoop Dogg, Santigold, and Beck. The album’s first smash single, “I Just Had Sex” (feat. Akon), was certified platinum and has 297 millions views on YouTube. The second single, “The Creep” (feat. Nicki Minaj and John Waters) has over 105 million YouTube views. Additional singles, “Jack Sparrow” (feat. Michael Bolton), has 193 million views and “Threw It On The Ground” has 102 million views on YouTube.

In June 2013, the group released their third studio effort on Republic Records, “The Wack Album”. The album includes songs featuring Hugh Jackman, Kristen Wiig, Robyn, Adam Levine, Kendrick Lamar, Justin Timberlake, Lady Gaga, Too $hort, Pharrell Williams, T-Pain, Billie Joe Armstrong, and Solange. The Wack Album’s lead single, “YOLO” (feat. Adam Levine and Kendrick Lamar), made YouTube’s “Top 10 Trending Videos” for 2013. They were also recognized by Billboard’s Year-End issue as the #1 Comedy Albums Artists, #1 Comedy Albums Title The Wack Album, #1 Comedy Digital Tracks Artist and #1 Comedy Digital Tracks Title for “Yolo.”